Would you like to distance yourself by permanently deleting your Facebook account? In this article we show you how to proceed on computer and smartphone ; through a web browser or the Facebook and Facebook Lite mobile applications.
Before seeing how to permanently delete a Facebook account, know that you can distance yourself without deleting your account. It is possible to disappear from Facebook by deactivating an account, to reactivate it at will.
- 1 Differences between deactivating and deleting a Facebook account
- 2 What happens when you delete your Facebook account?
- 3 Delete Facebook account on computer (web browser)
- 4 Delete Facebook Account on Mobile Web Browser
- 5 Permanently delete an account on Facebook Lite
- 6 Can you delete a Facebook account and keep Messenger?
- 7 How to recover a deleted Facebook account?
Differences between deactivating and deleting a Facebook account
When a user deactivates their Facebook account, their profile is not deleted but becomes untraceable for all other users. Photos and videos in the account are also not deleted, but disappear from most content shared on Facebook.
His friends will still be able to see his name in their friends lists as well as the messages exchanged and the user of the deactivated account will still be able, if he wishes, to access the Messenger application to exchange messages with his friends. s.
With the deletion of the account, all is lost and this definitively. Disabling an account is temporary, while deletion is permanent. However, it can be canceled within a certain period.
Read also: Find out if someone has blocked you on Facebook.
What happens when you delete your Facebook account?
Unlike deactivation, when a user permanently deletes their Facebook account, their profile, photos, videos, and posts are permanently deleted. But he can save them, if he wishes, during the deletion process.
His name disappears from his contacts' friends list, but some information exchanged, such as sent messages, can be viewed by his friends even after the account is deleted.
The pages he manages are also permanently deleted from Facebook. To prevent his pages from being deleted with his account, he can bequeath their management to another person before proceeding to the overpressure of his account.
Once the account is deleted, the user will no longer be able to access the applications and services to which he had registered with his Facebook account. He will no longer be able to use the Messenger application or reactivate his account.
Read also: Use Facebook well, why and how ?
On web browser, login to facebook account that you want to delete. At the top right corner of the page, click on the arrow ▼ then on Settings and Privacy → Settings.
On the column on the left, click on " Your information on Facebook then scroll to the bottom of the page and click on “ Deletion and deactivation ».
Then choose the option to delete the account.
Before permanently deleting a Facebook account, you will be offered to download and transfer its information.
The information to be downloaded (in HTML or JSON format) can be photos, videos, groups, messages, etc. They can be downloaded locally or copied to another service (Google Photos, Dropbox, etc.).
Save the information you want or ignore and go straight to deleting the account. Continue by entering your mot de passe. By confirming this action, you will initiate the permanent deletion of your Facebook account.
After submitting your deletion request, you will have 30 days to reactivate the account and undelete it. Beyond these 30 days, the process of deleting the account will begin and you will no longer be able to recover its content or information.
Deleting all content from the account can take, according to Facebook, up to 90 days from the time you initiate the process. During the deletion of this information, other Facebook users do not have access to it.
Read also: Cancel all invitations sent on Facebook.
To permanently delete a Facebook account on a smartphone, open one of your web browsers and log in to the account in question. On the home page, once logged into Facebook, expand the menu (3 horizontal bars) and scroll down.
Press on " Settings and privacy "Then on" Parameters ". Continue by pressing Personal and Account Information.
Then press Account Ownership and Control → Deactivation and Deletion.
Choose the option to delete account and continue. Again Facebook will offer you to download your information or transfer a copy to another service (Google Photos, Dropbox, etc.).
Save the information you want or ignore and go straight to deleting the account. Continue by entering your mot de passe and confirm to permanently delete this account. By validating this action, 30 days will separate you from the effective deletion of your account.
Permanently delete an account on Facebook Lite
To permanently delete a Facebook account on the Lite mobile application, open the latter (with your account connected to it). In the app, tap the menu icon , scroll down to tap " Settings and privacy "Then on" Parameters ».
Press Personal and Account Information → Account Ownership and Control → Deactivation and Deletion.
Choose the option to delete account and continue. Again Facebook will offer you to download your information or transfer a copy to another service.
Save the information you want or ignore and go straight to deleting the account. Continue by entering your mot de passe and confirm the action.
Can you delete a Facebook account and keep Messenger?
Deactivating the Facebook account does not remove access to the Messenger app, deleting it does. Choosing to permanently delete a Facebook account means deciding never to use Messenger again, as well as any other service of Facebook or related to it.
How to recover a deleted Facebook account?
Your Facebook account is not deleted immediately after the deletion request. The moment you request its deletion, your account is deactivated and placed on deletion pending. The effective deletion takes place within 30 days of the request.
Your profile and account information will be deleted within 30 days of your request. If you change your mind, you can log in again before the deletion date and choose to keep your account. To do this, open Facebook and log in:
Use your phone number, E-mail adress or username as well as the mot de passe. Connect from a web browser (on mobile or computer), from the Facebook mobile application or Facebook Lite. Log in and cancel the deletion.
Cancellation is only possible within 30 days of your request to delete the account. Beyond these 30 days, the process of deleting the account becomes irreversible and you will no longer be able to recover the content or information that you have added to it.