With 1 billion users worldwide, Instagram is now the preferred social network for many Internet users who want to share their photos and videos. If you want to distance yourself, for whatever reason, then here is how to permanently delete an Instagram account.
Before learning how to delete an Instagram account, know that you can distance yourself without deleting your account. As Facebook, you can disappear from Instagram by temporarily deactivating your account.
Permanently delete Instagram account on phone
Before deleting the account, perhaps remember to back up your various data linked to the Instagram account concerned. Once the account is deleted, all related data will be deleted too, and permanently.
Directly through the Instagram mobile application, here is how to save your data (photos, videos, etc.) before deleting the account:
- Open Instagram on your Android or iOS smartphone and log into your account.
- Expand the menu (top right of the screen) and go to Account Settings.
A download link will be emailed to you within 48 hours. The link in question must be kept secret for reasons of data confidentiality. Do not share it with anyone, since it will give access to all your data and publications.
To permanently delete an Instagram account on a smartphone, you will have to use one of your web browsers. From your mobile phone, here's how to delete your account:
- Access the account deletion page through this link. If you are logged in, you will go directly to deleting the account. Otherwise, you will be asked to sign in to the account you want to delete. Use your username and password.
2. Choose an answer from the drop-down list linked to the question " Why do you want to delete your account? ».
3. Confirm your password and proceed to delete the account by clicking on " Remove »
Once deleted, the operation is irreversible. Your Instagram account will disappear permanently, so you will no longer be able to access it. Your photos, videos and all your data will be permanently deleted from the social network.
Before permanently deleting your Instagram account, it would therefore be better, if you wish, to back up your data. From your computer, here's how to back up your data (photos, videos, etc.)
- Being logged into your Instagram account via a web browser of your choice, click on the profile icon above right, then on " Parameters ».
- On the left side of the page, click on " Security and confidentiality "Then scroll down and locate the" Download data ».
3. Click on " Request an Instagram download ". Inquire theE-mail adress of your account as well as the mot de passe. A download link will be emailed to you within 48 hours. Since it will give access to all your data and publications, do not share it with anyone.
If you have backed up your data and still want to distance yourself, here is how to proceed through the web browser to permanently delete an Instagram account:
- Access the account deletion page through this link.
- Log in to the account you want to delete. To do this, use your username and password.
- Choose an answer from the drop-down list linked to the question " Why do you want to delete your account? ».
- Confirm your password and proceed to delete the account.
Like some other social networks, Instagram does not delete your account directly after your request. Your profile and account information will be deleted within 30 days of your request. If you change your mind, you can log back in before the deletion date and choose to keep your account.
Temporarily deactivate an Instagram account on computer and smartphone
Instead of permanently deleting an Instagram account, it is possible to distance yourself without irreversibly deleting the account. This is to temporarily disable it. At the first connection with your username and password, the account will become active again.
Here is how to proceed to deactivate your Instagram account:
Deactivation of Instagram account via web browser on computer.
- Being connected to your Instagram account via browser web of your choice, click on the profile icon above right, then on " Parameters».
- On the left side of the page, click on " Edit Profile "Then scroll down and locate the" Temporarily deactivate my account».
3. Enter your password to confirm the deactivation of the account. After deactivation, you will not be found on Instagram and can reactivate your account at will. The deactivation / reactivation of the account is possible as many times as you wish.
Deactivate Instagram account from mobile phone.
The account deactivation procedure remains the same as on a computer, only the appearance changes a little. From one of the web browsers available on your mobile, go to the Instagram site to connect if it is not already done.
Once logged in, click on the settings icon visible on the screen and select " Modify my profile ».
Scroll down and click on " Temporarily deactivate my account ". Answer the question " Why are you deactivating your account? By choosing one of the answers. After that enter your password to deactivate your account.