Temporarily deactivate a Facebook account on mobile and computer

Deactivate a Facebook account

Unlike deletion, deactivating a Facebook account does not delete the profile or data (photos, videos, pages, etc.) of the user. Its profile and its other elements become invisible until the reactivation of the account by its user.

What happens when you deactivate your Facebook account?

With the user's Facebook account disabled, their profile immediately becomes untraceable. His photos and videos are not deleted but disappear from most content shared on Facebook. His friends will still be able to see his name in their friends lists as well as the messages exchanged.

The pages he manages are also deactivated, that is to say, they become untraceable on Facebook. To avoid the interruption of the activities of the page, he can bequeath his management to another person before deactivating his account.

After deactivating the account, the user can still use Facebook Messenger to exchange messages with friends. In conversations, his profile picture will be visible. He will remain active on Messenger and other users will be able to send him messages.

Read also: Permanently delete a Facebook account.

Deactivate a Facebook account on computer (web browser)

On web browser, login to facebook account you want to disable. At the top right corner of the page, click on the arrow ▼ then on Settings and Privacy → Settings.

Open Facebook account settings

On the column on the left, click on " Your information on Facebook then scroll to the bottom of the page and click on “ Deletion and deactivation ».

Facebook account information

Make sure you choose the deactivate option and not the delete account option.

Deactivate a Facebook account

To deactivate a Facebook account, choose the option " deactivate and continue by entering your mot de passe. Choose a deactivation reason (Optional) and proceed to account deactivation.

Facebook account disabled

Deactivate Facebook Account on Mobile Web Browser

To deactivate a Facebook account on a smartphone, open one of your web browsers and log in to the Facebook account concerned. On the home page, once connected to Facebook, expand the menu (3 horizontal bars), scroll down.

Read also: Cancel all invitations sent on Facebook.

Press on " Settings and privacy "Then on" Parameters ". Continue by pressing Personal and Account Information.

Open Facebook settings on mobile web

Then press Account Ownership and Control → Deactivation and Deletion.

Account deactivation on mobile web browser

Choose the deactivation option and follow the instructions.

Read also:  Find out if someone has blocked you on Facebook.

Deactivate an account on Facebook Lite

To deactivate a Facebook account on the Lite mobile application, open the latter (with your account connected to it). In the app, tap the menu icon Facebook Lite menu icon, scroll down to tap " Settings and privacy "Then on" Parameters ».

Open Account Settings on Facebook Lite

Press Personal and Account Information → Account Ownership and Control → Deactivation and Deletion.

Account Deactivation on Facebook Lite

Choose the deactivation option and follow the instructions to deactivate your Facebook account.

Read also: Tips for using Facebook well.

Deactivate a Facebook account and keep Messenger

Disabling the Facebook account does not remove access to the Messenger app. On the other hand, if you permanently delete your Facebook account it will also be necessary to say goodbye to Messenger.

This means that your Facebook account will be deactivated but your Messenger account will remain active, unless you also deactivate it from the Messenger application. Using Messenger will not reactivate your Facebook account.

On Messenger, your profile picture will remain visible in your conversations and people will still be able to search for you by name to send you messages.

How to reactivate your Facebook account?

A simple connection to the deactivated Facebook account automatically reactivates it. The user's profile becomes findable again as well as their images, videos and publications. If you want to return to Facebook after deactivating your account, you can reactivate it at any time.

Log in to reactivate a Facebook account

To do this, log in again using your phone number, E-mail adress or username as well as the mot de passe. Connect from a web browser (on mobile or computer), from the Facebook mobile application or Facebook Lite.

Leave comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Total
1
Share